resultsRutgers’ Cassidy elected DI SAAC chair
Rutgers’ Cassidy elected DI SAAC chair

Rutgers’ Cassidy elected DI SAAC chair

Ryan Cassidy was voted chair of the Division I Student-Athlete Advisory Committee in its executive board election earlier this month.

A football player at Rutgers, Cassidy has served as the Big Ten Conference’s representative on Division I SAAC since 2019. He has also served as a student-athlete representative on the Division I Football Oversight Committee since May 2020. Additionally, he has been the president of Rutgers’ SAAC for the past two years.

“Serving the student-athletes as chair of this group means one thing: commitment toward advocating for our peers,” said Cassidy, who will graduate in May with a bachelor’s degree in economics. “Creating an inclusive and equitable environment for all Division I student-athletes will forever be our No. 1 priority, and I look forward to being involved in those decisions that ignite change now and are sustained in the years to come.”

Brynn Carlson, a volleyball player at Kansas State, and Bryce Choate, a runner at Oral Roberts, were elected as vice chairs of Division I SAAC. Both will serve as student-athlete representatives on the Division I Council.

Carlson has been the Big 12 Conference’s representative on Division I SAAC since last year, which has included serving on the Division I Committee on Academics. Choate has been the Summit League’s representative since 2019. He has served on the NCAA Board of Governors Student-Athlete Engagement Committee for the past year.

“I cannot speak higher of my fellow executive board members, Brynn and Bryce,” Cassidy said. “All three of us can be interchangeable in our roles because of our experience within the Association and the passion that we bring for the objectives we care about most.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Got sports news? Want to see your team featured on northeast Texas’ premier sports website? Contact us today!

b Monday-Friday: 9am to 5pm;