nationalRomo, Stoops inducted into 2021 College Football HOF class
Romo, Stoops inducted into 2021 College Football HOF class

Romo, Stoops inducted into 2021 College Football HOF class

Former Eastern Illinois star quarterback Tony Romo, who was also a long-time signal-caller for the Dallas Cowboys is headed to the 2021 College Football Hall of Fame, which was announced on Monday. Other notable people joining Romo in the 2021 class include former Oklahoma Sooners head coach Bob Stoops, Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Carson Palmer of USC, and former Clemson Tigers running back C.J. Spiller.

Darren Sproles of Kansas State University and Tennessee Volunteers former linebacker Al Wilson were also among the 11 players selected to this year’s class.

Romo was the first-ever, three-time conference player of the year in Ohio Valley Conference history and won the Walter Payton Award in 2002, which is the highest honor an FCS player can receive.

Meanwhile, Stoops went 190-48 during his tenure with the Sooners from 1999-2016. He led his team to a total of 10 Big 12 championships and the 2000 BCS National Championship in just his second year at the helm of the program. Stoops never had a losing season, coached 38 first-team All-American players, and went to a bowl game in all 18 seasons he coached the Sooners.

The 2021 class will be inducted with the 2020 class during the National Football Foundation awards dinner on Tuesday, Dec. 7, of this year due to complications from COVID-19 canceling the 2020 ceremony. See the full list of inductees below. For more sports coverage, click here.


The full class

Harris Barton, OT, North Carolina (1983-86)

David Fulcher, DB, Arizona State (1983-85)

Dan Morgan, LB, Miami (1997-2000)

Carson Palmer, QB, USC (1998-2002)

Tony Romo, QB, Eastern Illinois (1999-2002)

Kenneth Sims, DT, Texas (1978-81)

C.J. Spiller, RB/KR, Clemson (2006-09)

Darren Sproles, RB, Kansas State (2001-04)

Aaron Taylor, OT, Notre Dame (1990-93)

Andre Tippett, DE, Iowa (1979-81)

Al Wilson, LB, Tennessee (1995-98)



Rudy Hubbard, 83-48-3 (63.1%), Florida A&M (1974-85)

Bob Stoops, 190-48-0 (79.8%), Oklahoma (1999-2016)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Got sports news? Want to see your team featured on northeast Texas’ premier sports website? Contact us today!

b Monday-Friday: 9am to 5pm;