nationalNBA releases list of 2021 HOF nominees
2021 HOF NBA nominees

NBA releases list of 2021 HOF nominees

First-time NBA Hall of Fame nominees Paul Pierce, Doug Collins, Michael Cooper, and Lauren Jackson headline this year’s 2021 list, which was released Tuesday on ESPN’s NBA coverage and news show The Jump.

Joining these four basketball contributors are fellow first-time nominees Howard Garfinkel, Lou Henson, Val Ackerman, and Yolanda Griffith. Meanwhile, this year’s popular returning candidates are Chauncey Billups, Chris Bosh, Richard Hamilton, Becky Hammon, Swin Cash, and Ben Wallace.

Pierce is known best for what he accomplished in 15 of his 19 NBA seasons with the Boston Celtics. He was a 10-time All-Star with Boston and led the franchise to an NBA title in six games over the Kobe-Bryant-led Los Angeles Lakers while collecting Finals MVP honors in 2008. Pierce finished his career second all-time on the franchise scoring list behind John Havlicek.

Meanwhile, Collins also made the list after eight seasons for the Philadelphia 76ers as the franchise’s top overall pick in the 1973 NBA Draft. After that, he coached the Chicago Bulls during Michael Jordan’s earlier years in the league, and he also had coaching stints with the Detroit Pistons, Washington Wizards, and 76ers with an overall career coaching record of 442-407.

Cooper was a decorated defensive stalwart guard mostly with the “Showtime” LA Lakers squad, and he also made marks in the WNBA coaching ranks with two titles and 2000 Coach of the Year honors with the Los Angeles Sparks.

Meanwhile, Jackson earned her spot as a candidate after a highly successful WNBA career. She collected four WNBL MVP awards and three WNBA MVP awards. She led the Seattle Storm to a championship in 2010 and earned WNBA Finals MVP honors that year. Jackson is also a three-time WNBA scoring champ, was the 2007 WNBA Defensive Player of the Year, and was a seven-time WNBA All-Star.

The 2021 class will be finalized and announced during this year’s NBA All-Star weekend in early March. Then, the 2021 HOF Class will be announced during the NCAA Final Four, which is slated for April of 2021. The inductees will be enshrined in the Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts in September of 2021. For more sports coverage, click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Got sports news? Want to see your team featured on northeast Texas’ premier sports website? Contact us today!

b Monday-Friday: 9am to 5pm;