nationalBaylor, Gonzaga populate NCAAM AP All-America teams
Baylor, Gonzaga populate NCAAM AP All-America teams

Baylor, Gonzaga populate NCAAM AP All-America teams

After they helped their teams post strong performances during the regular season, Jared Butler of Baylor University and Corey Kispert of the University of Gonzaga led the way with AP First-Team All-America nods as the Zags and Bears held down the top two spots of the AP Top-25 poll for almost the entire season. Luka Garza of Iowa joined the first team as a unanimous selection while Ayo Dosunmu of Illinois and Cade Cunningham of Oklahoma State also earned first-team honors.

The Zags also saw Drew Timme and Jalen Suggs selected to the second team while Joel Ayayi was named to the honorable mention team. Davion Mitchell represented Baylor as a third-team selection while MaCio Teague was named an honorable mention. The Bears, who earned their first number-one seed in program history, have seen their success be fully team-oriented from the start.

“These awards are just team awards,” said Butler, who withdrew from the NBA draft to return for his junior year. “I wouldn’t be here without my teammates just playing with me and giving me confidence. It’s been nice.”

See the full list of first-, second-, and third-team AP All-America recipients below. For more sports and outdoor coverage, click here.

Men’s All-America Teams

First Team
  • Luka Garza, Iowa
  • Jared Butler, Baylor
  • Ayo Dosunmu, Illinois
  • Cade Cunningham, Oklahoma State
  • Corey Kispert, Gonzaga
Second Team
  • Drew Timme, Gonzaga
  • Jalen Suggs, Gonzaga
  • Evan Mobley, USC
  • Hunter Dickinson, Michigan
  • Kofi Cockburn, Illinois
Third Team
  • Davion Mitchell, Baylor
  • Quentin Grimes, Houston
  • Herb Jones, Alabama
  • Cameron Krutwig, Loyola Chicago
  • Chris Duarte, Oregon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Got sports news? Want to see your team featured on northeast Texas’ premier sports website? Contact us today!

b Monday-Friday: 9am to 5pm;